We're absolutely delighted to announce the winners for the 2017 SFRA awards!

* Mary Kay Bray award for best essay, interview, or extended review to appear in the SFRA Review: Hugh C. O'Connell for his review of Jack Fennell's Irish Science Fiction

* Thomas D. Clareson award for distinguished service: Veronica Hollinger

* Pilgrim Award for lifetime contribution to SF and Fantasy scholarship: Carl Freedman

* Pioneer Award for best critical essay-length work of the year: Thomas Strychacz for "The Political Economy of Potato Farming in Andy Weir's The Martian," Science Fiction Studies 44.1 (2017):1-20.

* Student Paper Award for outstanding scholarly essay read at the annual SFRA conference: Josh Pearson, for "New Weird Frankenworlds: Speaking and Laboring Worlds in Cisco's Internet of Everything."

* Honorable mention for the Student Paper Award goes to Kylie Korsnack for "Towards a Time Travel Aesthetic: Writing-between-worlds in Okorafor, Butler, and Baledosingh."

Science Fiction Research Association presents a number of awards annually. Past winners can be found on the award pages.

Pilgrim Award
The Pilgrim Award was created in 1970 by the SFRA to honor lifetime contributions to SF and fantasy scholarship. The award was named for J. O. Bailey's pioneering book, Pilgrims through Space and Time.

Pioneer Award
The Pioneer Award is given to the writer or writers of the best critical essay-length work of the year.

Thomas D. Clareson Award
The Thomas D. Clareson Award for Distinguished Service is presented for outstanding service activities-promotion of SF teaching and study, editing, reviewing, editorial writing, publishing, organizing meetings, mentoring, and leadership in SF/fantasy organizations.

Mary Kay Bray Award
The Mary Kay Bray Award is given for the best essay, interview, or extended review to appear in the SFRA Review in a given year.

Student Paper Award
The Student Paper Award is presented to the outstanding scholarly essay read at the annual conference of the SFRA by a student.


Support a New Scholar Grant

Conference Travel Grant

Science Fiction Research Association is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software