sfra home page

Coyote's Song: The Teaching Stories of Ursula K. Le Guin

Richard D. Erlich

A Science Fiction Research Association Digital Book

Table of Contents

  1. Front Matter and Author Biography
  2. How to Use This Book
  3. Introduction
  4. Le Guin Chronology
  5. Early Works
  6. Daoism
  7. Explicitly Daoist Works
  8. Violence, Utopia, Ethics, Sex
  9. New Heroes
  10. Always Coming Home: Future Ethnographies
  11. Buffalo Gals and Other Animal Presences
  12. Other Lessons: Picture Books
  13. Earthsea Revisited: Tehanu
  14. Social Construction of Reality
  15. The Hainish Universe I
    15a. The Hainish Universe II
  16. "Solitude" and "The Matter of Seggri"
  17. Poems and King Dog
  18. "Winter's King" and "Coming of Age in Karhide"
  19. Conclusion
  20. Bibliography
  21. Index

The copyrights to this site are held by:
Richard Erlich (text/contents)
Michelle Walker & Richard Erlich (index)
Site design and hosting by Science Fiction Research Association, Matthew Holtmeier, Web Director.

All rights reserved, but fair-use quotations with citations are permitted and encouraged.

Readers are welcome to download all of Coyote's Song for reading and annotating, but may only distribute the whole site, including this disclaimer and contact information.

For general information and on all questions of copyright, contact Richard D. Erlich at

For questions about SFRA or about publishing online with SFRA, contact Matthew Holtmeier at

You are visitor number: