Pioneer Award

The Pioneer Award is given to the writer or writers of the best critical essay-length work of the year.

1990  Veronica Hollinger, "The Vampire and the Alien: Variations on the Outsider," Science Fiction Studies (July 1989)

1991  H. Bruce Franklin, "The Vietnam War as American Science Fiction and Fantasy," Science Fiction Studies (November 1990)

1992  Istvan Csiscery-Ronay Jr., "The SF of Theory: Baudrillard and Haraway," Science Fiction Studies (November 1991) [full text]

1993  No award

1994  Larry McCaffrey and Takayuki Tatsumi, "Towards the Theoretical Frontiers of Fiction: From Metafiction and Cyberpunk through Avant-Pop," Science Fiction Eye (Summer 1993)

1995  Roger Luckhurst, "The Many Deaths of Science Fiction: A Polemic," Science Fiction Studies (March 1994) [full text]

1996  Brian Stableford, "How Should a Science Fiction Story End?" New York Review of Science Fiction (February 1995)

1997  John Moore, "Shifting Frontiers: Cyberpunk and the American South," Foundation (Spring 1996)

1998  I. F. Clarke, "Future-War Fiction: The First Main Phase, 1871–1900," Science Fiction Studies (November 1997) [full text]

1999  Carl Freedman, "Kubrick's 2001 and the Possibility of a Science-Fiction Cinema," Science Fiction Studies (July 1998)

2000  Wendy Pearson, "Alien Cryptographies: The View from Queer," Science Fiction Studies (March 1999) [full text]

2001  De Witt Douglas Kilgore, "Changing Regimes: Vonda N. McIntyre's Parodic Astrofuturism," Science Fiction Studies (July 2000) [full text]

2002  Judith Berman, "Science Fiction without the Future," New York Review of Science Fiction (May 2001) [full text]

2003  Lance Olsen, "Omniphage," in Edging into the Future

2004  Andrew M. Butler "Thirteen Ways of Looking at the British Boom," Science Fiction Studies (November 2003)

2005  Lisa Yaszek, "The Women History Doesn't See: Recoverying Midcentury Women's SF as a Literature of Social Critique," Extrapolation (Spring 2004)

2006  Maria DeRose "Redefining Women's Power through Feminist Science Fiction," Extrapolation (Spring 2005)

2007  Amy J. Ransom, "Oppositional Postcolonialism in Québécois Science Fiction," Science Fiction Studies (July 2006)

2008  Sherryl Vint, "Speciesism and Species Being in Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?," Mosaic (March 2007)

2009  Neil Easterbrook, "Giving an Account of Oneself: Ethics, Alterity, Air," Extrapolation 49.2

2010  Allison de Fren, "The Anatomical Gaze in Tomorrow's Eve," Science Fiction Studies 36.2 (July 2009): 235-65

2011  John Reider, "On Defining SF, or Not," Science Fiction Studies 37.2 (July 2010)

2012 David M. Higgins, "Towards a Cosmopolitan Science Fiction," American Literature 83.2 (June 2011)

2013 Lysa Rivera, "Future Histories and Cyborg Labor: Reading Borderlands Science Fiction after NAFTA," Science Fiction Studies 39.3

Honorable Mention: Hugh C. O'Connell, "Mutating toward the Future: The Convergence of Utopianism, Postcolonial SF, and the Postcontemporary Longing for Form in Amitav Ghosh's The Calcutta Chromosome," Modern Fiction Studies 58.4

2014 Jaak Tomberg, "On the Double Vision of Realism and SF Estrangement in Gibson's Bigend Trilogy," Science Fiction Studies 40.2 (July 2013)